Home | Why us  | Travel Tips | Testimonials | Contact  
  My Tour Plan  
Tour Planner   |   Adventure   |   Cruises   |   Rejuvenation   |   Current Favorites   |   Event Calendar   |   Visual Tour   |   International Destinations





Group of Coral Islands

Photo Gallery

Lakshwadeep is an enchanting group of coral islands in the Arabian Sea, which forms the smallest Union Territory. This archipelago consists of 12 atolls, three reefs and five submerged banks. Lakshwadeep of its 36 islands covering an area of 32Sq.Km only 10 are inhabited. They are Adroit, Amini, Agatti, Bitra, Chetlat, Kadmat, Kalpeni, Kavaratti (Headquarters), Kiltan and Minicoy. Bitra is the smallest of all. Lakshwadeep lies about 220 to 440 Kms from the coastal city of Cochin in Kerala. These islands and Cochin are linked by ship, which takes about 18 to 20 hours by air. The islands, which were administered at various places, were grouped into a Union Territory in 1956 and the name of this Union Territory was changed to Lakshwadeep with effect from November 1, 1973. In 1964 the administration had shifted to Kavaratti Island. Malayalam is the language spoken in all islands except Minicoy where people speak Mahl written in Divehi, which is spoken in Maldives also.

  Recommended Activities: Scuba Diving,Wind surfing,Kayaking,Canoeing, Yachting, Snorkeling,Water skiing,Para Sailing,Fishing,Islands etc..
  Logistics: Connected Through Air and Ship. Nearest Airport is Agatti.
Currently there are no packages in this destination!

  Featured Places to Visit
  • Lakshadweep
  • Site Map    |     Feedback    |    General Enquiry

    Contact Number : +91 80 25596915 Email : info@holidaybliss.in

    2008 Holiday Bliss. All rights reserved.